Politics

A-FREE-CAR

captives-being-brought-on-board-a-slave-ship-on-the-west-coast-of-africa--slave-coast--c1880-802464822-59fb46fc0d327a003632d7d3

I once heard the mice of Kaduna whispering to the dogs of Sokoto that Gadhafi was a god; Dr Kwame Nkrumah, a legend And Kuti, a fella of Africanism.

 

So, I went on a quest along the Nile into the deep basin of Congo Searching for the tears that once grew the trees of our land.

 

As the dawn approached; I heard mighty roars of laughter!

This should be the Independence of Ghana, I wondered But my very eyes had failed my calendar for my 1956 and 1965 were misplaced.

 

Still, in my unawares, I consulted the gods of our land.

Lo and behold, the transition had once begun. Our African liberal had been driven into exile. He had been sold by the very cuffed hands he forced to free.

 

Decades and decades went by as the pillars of Africa crippled.

I was on the ferry in my wild thoughts dreaming dreams of blessed Libya. The beauty of a country and a condition of life non-compared.

 

O’ hail the general! Gadhafi! I lavishly chanted through the deserts.

On my way, I met my worst fears; the vulture and the torture of the dessert

But what more could this land offer, for from afar the green Libya was burnt in smokes.

 

Once again 2011 had seen the fall of Africa’s “bad-boy” And now democracy was the new hypocrisy.

Libya is no more but Libya was free till…

 

We prayed for Paris yet paralyzed ourselves

We prayed for Haiti yet hated ourselves

And we kept praying for peace as we cut ourselves in pieces.

 

For amidst the JOLLOF WARS of the Nigerians and Ghanaians, doom drew nigh!

For once Ghana Must Go as Ana-go (but to be kept in cuffs once again), Then I say Libya must go!

Go back to days of their fathers defining what made them as a people And apart from Africa.

 

We have gold, diamond, bauxite but the people are more valuable!

We have forests and gardens but human beings are not grown!

We have gods but God made us for no man is god over man!

Africa arise! Arise from your slumber!

 

“Gadhafi, your death unlike the Christ’s brought doom… Your blood like Abel’s cried but this is A-free-car and we choose who should drive…”

 

©PACESETTER

 

 

1 thought on “A-FREE-CAR”

Leave a comment